SPICY Broccoli – A Musical Trip Thru the ’80’s : Win a Prize!!!!

IMG_3684

Are you into cooking but not that into cooking?  This is for you.  It requires very little work, no proper cooking (just warming up a few little ingredients) and tossing everything together.

Simple as can be and super delish.  This isn’t one for the kiddos, it’s very spicy which I love and now that the weather has finally turned cooler I tend to add even more heat to my meals.

I think of this as a kind of eighties dish so I’m throwing in some hot ’80’s videos for you to get you in the mood.

1 head of  fresh broccoli – cut into florets and washed well (I wouldn’t skimp on the washing part, I just heard a scary story on NPR about food and illness.)

IMG_3678

2 cloves of garlic – smashed and peeled

1/4 cup toasted sesame oil

2-3 tbs hot red pepper flakes

IMG_3674

2 tsp. soy sauce

In a small sauce pan over low heat add the sesame oil, garlic and pepper flakes.  Allow to warm throughly, remove from the heat and add the hot red pepper flakes.

IMG_3677

Discard the garlic, toss to combine well and add the soy sauce to taste.

IMG_3682

Allow to sit for two hours in the fridge.  That’s it.  It’s really delicious and the broccoli doesn’t have any of that dry waxy quality raw broccoli gets but retains all its crunch and flavor.

IMG_3683

Enjoy!

I really intended to keep it to two ’80’s Videos but I can’t help myself, this is next level.  Any one who wants to write their interpretation of what this video is about or what the pitch to Nu Shooz  was for this video will get some spicy broccoli made by moi, delivered to you at home.   Seriously.

Leave a comment